Coming Soon
Home > Forum

Author Topic: Seat Cover and graphics  (Read 7157 times)

Offline kawi250

• Junior
    • View Profile
Seat Cover and graphics
« on: April 04, 2010, 06:58:41 AM »
Ok so I've never done either before but im assuming its pretty straight forward. I have new plastics as well so they wont be dirty, but is it just as simple as it seems? Wipe the plastics off and put the graphics on? is there any trick to it to make the graphics tacky? and for the seat cover do you just staple the new one where you want it? Just figured id ask before i did it

Offline grumpy

• Junior
    • View Profile
Re: Seat Cover and graphics
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2010, 07:38:30 AM »
I can't speak for the graphics, but yes on the seat cover. It's best to use 1/4" or 3/8" staples and an air stapler, lol that's a tough combo to come by but can be done. If your original seat cover is in great shape you don't actually need to remove the old one, I always have but I've only replaced torn covers.

Check out this link for some great tips on replacing that seat cover, http://www.airfoolers.com/performance/seatrecover.html Using those tips, I've actually replaced an old cover with just a plain piece of marine vinyl.
The AMA 4 stroke displacement rule is simply the AMA's Rich Kid's Handicap Rule!

Offline kawi250

• Junior
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2010, 05:17:08 PM »
Thanks for the site do you really need to heat the cover though? i have an 05 and the seats not the same material

Offline grumpy

• Junior
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2010, 08:27:14 PM »
I'm sure you can do it without the heat, but the heat really makes a big difference in getting out the wrinkles and getting a good fit. I wouldn't suggest using a heat gun though as they get too hot. Just a simple hair dryer will provide more than enough heat.
The AMA 4 stroke displacement rule is simply the AMA's Rich Kid's Handicap Rule!

Offline danbot

• Novice
    • View Profile