Coming Soon
Home > Forum

Author Topic: Neck Braces (with poll)  (Read 3479 times)

Offline Kembo693

• Junior
    • View Profile
Neck Braces (with poll)
« on: March 19, 2012, 04:28:59 PM »
Whats up everyone!

After neck braces have been couple years on the market, it has become the most contoversial and opinion-splitting piece of safety equipment out there. Right now, more and more guys seems to be running without one. I heard RD cut more than half a second off from his laptimes without one, since it made his cornering much better. Dont know if that was the actual reason for his laptimes, but anyways I guess the biggest "peak" of the neck braces has gone by now.

I have been using Leatt since it came out, but been running without one for quite a time now. Since I started riding and racing offroad more than MX, I found it extremely uncomfortable at times. And it may sound funny, but I even felt that it was literally slowing me down sometimes. Especially in tight sections, sections with steep hills, anywhere where you really have to extend your neck and look around, it started to feel very bad.

Anyway, I just ordered the new EVS R4. From what I've heard, it gives your head a bit more space than Leatt or Alpinestars. I'm really looking forward to get it on and put in some laps with it to really see how it is. (Pic below)

So, what's your opinion on neck braces, and what are you using?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 04:00:00 PM by ' »

Offline twosmoke595

• View Profile
Neck Braces (with poll)
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2012, 05:40:36 PM »
ok here it goes

i got a leatt adventure pro about 3 years ago, the first few rides were a challenge, just because it was one more thing i had to get used to while riding, but after that, i haven't noticed it since, it does offer a bit less head movement than without one, but i'd rather use it and not need it, than need it and not have it.