Coming Soon

Race Recaps Articles more_>

Taddy Blazusiak Opens 2010 GEICO EnduroCross Series with a win in Las Vegas!

by JohnNicholas on 07/20/2010

Two Stroke Machines finish 1st and 2nd!

Las Vegas, NV (July 17, 2010) – Taddy Blazusiak, the defending EnduroCross champion rode his Red Bull KTM to a hard fought victory over Geico, Christini backed Geoff Aaron. Zip Ty Husqvarna mounted Cory Graffunder came out on top of a dog fight for the final podium spot over FMF KTM’s Mike Brown and Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Justin Soule.

Shotmaker Productions video of the race.

Aaron, the ten time National Trials champion got the day started by setting the fastest time during the Pioneer Hot Lap that determine the gate picks for the evenings heat races. He also earned a $500 bonus from Rekluse clutch by being the fastest rider using their auto clutch. Mike Brown and Cody Webb, one of the top American Trials riders showed that he is quickly learning how to race EnduroCross by posting the third fastest time.

Blazusiak, Brown and Graffunder were the heat race winners and earned the best gate picks for the main event. The biggest surprise of the night was the fact that Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ricky Dietrich, the 2008 EnduroCross champion, did not qualify for the main after crashing while in a qualifying spot during the Last Chance Qualifier. He was joined on the sidelines by Lucas Oil backed Colton Haaker, last year’s E3 Spark Plugs Junior Champion that also had a very rough evening.

Blazusiak earned the $750 Girardi Wealth management holeshot award but was quickly passed by Geoff Aaron. The two riders swapped the lead several times during the first half of the race until Aaron made a small mistake and fell over in the GEICO rock garden. That gave Blazusiak a small lead that he managed hold for the remainder of the race. The battle for third included Graffunder, Brown, Soule, Gary Sutherlin, Kyle Redmund, and Cody Webb. Webb appeared to have the final podium spot under control before crashing in the Monster water hole and then Graffunder temporarily handed the position away but fought back to get on the podium. Brown rode a steady race to earn forth position ahead of Soule. All of these riders had a shot at the podium and provided some great racing action for the enthusiastic crowd.

2010 Las Vegas EnduroCross Expert Class results:

1. Taddy Blazusiak KTM
2. Geoff Aaron Christini KTM
3. Cory Graffunder Husqvarna
4. Mike Brown KTM
5. Justin Soule Kawasaki
6. Gary Sutherlin Kawasaki
7. Kyle Redmond Kawasaki
8. Jamie Lanza Kawasaki
9. Destry Abbott Kawasaki
10. Cody Webb Gas Gas
11. Kevin Rookstool KTM

The GEICO EnduroCross series presented by E3 Spark plugs now heads to Guthrie Oklahoma for round two on August 14th.