Coming Soon
Home > Forum

Author Topic: New rider and hope you can help with some questions  (Read 2379 times)

Offline auditt23

• View Profile
New rider and hope you can help with some questions
« on: October 16, 2012, 03:19:01 PM »
First off thanks for stopping by, I'm new to the motorcross scene (or any dirt bike scene) and hope you can help me some. I just picked up a 2004 KX250, bike starts right up and runs great. Tilt the bike over some today to look at lt through the glass and seemed thick and grey? Also anyone who's running this bike what oil are you using for the engine and for transmission? I wanna change them and keep a eye, read some and seems water seals leak and get into oil but doesn't look milky. The clutch seems notchy, when letting off the clutch it will kinda jump.Any help will be great!
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 04:00:00 PM by ' »

Offline SachsGS

• Professional
    • View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2012, 06:17:44 PM »
Your KX 250 has a 2 cycle motor and requires mixed gas. The trans. oil is milky because of moisture (leaky waterpump seal, too much pressure washing, sunk the bike in a stream etc.) and grey because of clutch debris. The mix oil and trans. lubricant choice is up to you - if you read thru. the forums you'll see member's favorites. ;D

Offline arnego2

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2012, 07:17:18 PM »
If you just got the bike do yourself the favor and have a look at the piston, cylinder and lower bottom end. All of which could cause you mayor grief when failing. Just the piston you could just pull the exhaust pipe, all the other you need to pull the cylinder, flywheel cover of clutch engine cover.

Doing that will set you back about one hour if fast 2 if slow.

Offline VintageBlueSmoke

• Expert
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2012, 11:16:44 AM »