Coming Soon
Home > Forum

Author Topic: New cylinder, or new sleeve?  (Read 3901 times)

Offline Hondacrrider

• Professional
    • View Profile
New cylinder, or new sleeve?
« on: February 20, 2011, 03:04:20 PM »
So, I was looking on ebay, and they have a new OEM cylinder for 310 bucks, but then I saw that they also have sleeve kits. What is all involved in a sleeve kit, is it the same as getting the dealer to replate your cylinder? Sorry, I am new to this. Anyway, my cylinder is worn, no way around that, what do you think is my best financial and quality option?
I'd rather be riding...

Offline SachsGS

• Professional
    • View Profile
Re: New cylinder, or new sleeve?
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2011, 05:31:00 PM »
With a sleeve kit your cylinder will be bored to an interference fit and then a steel liner pressed in.Any attempt to do so will incur the well intended wrath of more then a few members of this site.Get the cylinder replated. ;D

Offline TMKIWI

• Professional
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2011, 07:52:05 PM »
With a sleeve kit your cylinder will be bored to an interference fit and then a steel liner pressed in.Any attempt to do so will incur the well intended wrath of more then a few members of this site.Get the cylinder replated. ;D

Who you talking about. ;D
If you don't fall off you are not going hard enough

Offline GlennC

• Expert
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2011, 12:18:02 AM »

Who you talking about. ;D

I would be on the list as well.

Offline snowboarderro

• Professional
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2011, 11:56:20 AM »
i had a crack in mine, so i put a sleve on  it

and now i bought a new one, so i have a back up now (the one with sleve)

i say plate it .

Offline Super Trucker

• Professional
    • View Profile
« Reply #5 on: February 22, 2011, 08:59:42 AM »